How to Find Your Passion FAQs

I had the pleasure of presenting How to Find Your Passion LIVE webinar on July 10th. It made my heart sing to share some of the coaching strategies that work for readers of Finding Passion in addition to clients making major career changes. The participants learned 6 strategies for how to get unstuck, make change last and get out of their own way – all precursors to setting up your Passion and ultimate happiness.

Unfortunately I did not get a chance to answer all of the questions in the webinar, so here for those who did not attend and have similar questions, here you go!

How do you get unstuck?

There’s many ways to get unstuck like break the pattern of your own thinking, reset your expectations, ask for help, and more. On the webinar, I shared another strategy which is to understand what change really needs – alignment. When we’re stuck, we’re not aligned and everything in our body and mind is telling us so. Like a bad cold we want to get rid of, being stuck is a heavy burden to carry.

To make change last, you need alignment of your values, beliefs and intentions. Only then can your actions really align to what you want. Being stuck, we often can’t see any path forward and tend to get distracted by just action, or just limiting beliefs.

How did I find Passion in the first place?

Luckily, I experience a long-time-in-the-making career burnout. Had the impact and tipping point not been so severe, I might not have left my well-paying job to pursue my Passion. Turns out, my Passion had been there all along and was in part, what kept me managing the really rough patches in my career where I felt stuck, unfulfilled and not recognizing myself anymore. I’m grateful every day for the low points in my career when I saw the writing on the wall and the warning signs were too great to ignore.

[At that time,] were you afraid to change careers?

Absolutely I was! It was terrifying to walk away from a good-on-paper kind of career. I was good at my job, and I loved so much of it. But in the end, my job wasn’t working for me anymore. It wasn’t the job that had changed, but I had changed…having started a family, I could no longer work 70 hours a week as a management consultant.

What I knew about myself even in the darkest of times through the guilt, embarrassment and even shame of not being able to handle my work anymore, is that I knew I would land on my feet. And trying a new career would be so much easier than continuing to force a no-win situation to work.

How many personal values are ideal to focus on?

Really, there isn’t a magic number here. I have three personal values – Truth, Inter-connectedness and Essence. Those three little words make a contract for me in almost everything I do nowadays, and especially in the decisions I made. If a decision doesn’t match these values, I know it’s not right for me.

I’d recommend that defining your personal values, you start with a working list of about 6-8 and narrow it down after a few iterations. You’ll soon see that some values are closely related, and there might be a stronger term that encapsulates both of those concepts. It’s up to you when the list feels right. I like the idea of three values as a system for what I stand for.

Did you miss How to Find Your Passion LIVE with Jessica webinar? Access an on-demand version now.

Related resources:

Personal Values are like an inner compass

Daily Acts of Courage

For more upcoming events, webinars and training, visit Managing Mindspaces.


JESSICA MANCA is a certified coach, author, entrepreneur and former management consultant. Jessica founded Managing Mindspaces, a professional coaching firm, providing sensible career and life coaching services to professionals making life-changing decisions.

© Copyright 2014 Managing Mindspaces. All rights reserved.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

